Crumbine Award

The Crumbine Award, sponsored by the Conference for Food Protection, is a prestigious national award given annually to local environmental Health jurisdictions who demonstrate excellence and continual improvement in a comprehensive food protection program. The purpose of the award is to encourage improvement and stimulate public interest in foodservice sanitation. The award is named in honor of Dr. Samuel J. Crumbine (1862 - 1954), a sanitarian-physician and public health pioneer who was renowned for his innovative methods of improving public health protection.

The Award was established in his honor in 1954 and was first awarded in 1955. Since 1955, the Samuel J. Crumbine Consumer Protection Award has been presented annually to one local governmental health unit that has demonstrated unsurpassed achievement in providing outstanding food protection services to its community. The Award, which recognizes the importance of food protection at the local level, is held in high esteem by the public health community.

For more information on the Crumbine Award program, and to download this year's criteria and the previous winning entries, please go to the http://www.crumbineaward.

For more information on Dr. Crumbine, you may also visit the Kansas State Historical Society website.


The Crumbine award is sponsored by the Conference for Food Protection (CFP), in cooperation with the:

  • American Academy of Sanitarians
  • American Public Health Association
  • Association of Food and Drug Officials
  • Food Marketing Institute
  • Foodservice Packaging Institute
  • International Association for Food Protection
  • National Association of County & City Health Officials
  • National Environmental Health Association
  • National Restaurant Association
  • NSF International
  • Underwriters Laboratories