Conference for Food Protection 2006-2008 Executive Board Meeting Committee Update

Council III - Sanitizer Committee

Date of Committee Report: July 16, 2007

Submitted By:

Katherine Swanson, Co-chair
Ecolab Inc
655 Lone Oak Drive
Eagan, MN 55121-1560
Voice (651) 795-5943
Fax (651) 204-7516, katie.swanson@ecolab.com

Dale Grinstead, Co-chair

JohnsonDiversey 8310 16th Street Sturtevant, WI 53177 Voice: (262) 631-4433 Fax: (262) 631-4067

dale.grinstead@johnsondiversey.com

Committee Charge(s):

A sanitizer subcommittee be created with USDA, FDA, EPA and other stakeholders to review and recommend changes to Food Code and EPA regulations with regards to sanitizer concentrations, exposure time, temperature and pH, with the goal of harmonizing the language and clarifying the responsibilities.

Committee Members:

Program Standards Committee

STATE REGULATORY

Lorinda Lhotka

Alaska Dept Environ. Conservation/Food Safety and Sanitation (907)451-2119 (907)451-5120, lorinda_lhotka@dec.state.ak.us

Tressa Madden

Oklahoma State Department of Health 1000 Neth 10th Oklahoma City, OK 73117-1299 (405) 271-524 (405) 271-3458 tressam@health.ok.gov

LOCAL REGULATORY

FEDERAL AGENCIES

Kevin Smith

Acting Director, Retail Food and Cooperative Programs Coordination Staff Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition Food and Drug Administration 5100 Paint Branch Parkway College Park, MD 20740 301-436-2149 (phone) 301-436-2672 (fax) kevin.smith@fda.hhs.gov

Mark Hepp

USFDA/CFSAN Voice: 301-436-1203 Fax: 301-436-2965 mark.hepp@fda.hhs.gov

William Jones

USDA/Labeling & Consumer Protection, Voice: 202-205-0623

William Shaw

USDA/Technical Analysis Voice 202-205-0695

Tajah L. Blackburn

Lieutenant, U.S. Public Health Service U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Office of Pesticide Programs/Antimicrobials Division 2777 South Crystal Drive, Mailcode: 7510P Arlington, VA 22202 blackburn.tajah@epa.gov (703) 308-0372 (office) (703) 305-5620

Michele E. Wingfield, Chief

Product Science Branch
Antimicrobials Division (7510P)
Office of Pesticide Programs
Environmental Protection Agency
1200 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20640
Ph. 703-308-6349
Fax. 703-305-5620

PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATION

Donna M. Garren

National Restaurant Association 1200 Seventeenth St. NW Washington, DC 20036-3097 Voice: (202) 331-5986 Fax(202) 973-3671 dgarren@dineout.org

INDUSTRY - RETAIL FOOD SERVICE

Rick Barney

Sweetbay Supermarkets 3801 Sugar Palm Drive Tampa, FL 33619 813.620.1139 X332 Fax: 813.626.9550

rabarney@sweetbaysupermarket.com

Mahipal Kunduru

Group Director **Consumer Protection Department** Safeway Inc 6220 Stoneridge Mall Road Pleasanton, CA 94588 Voice: 925-226-9393

Fax: 925-226-9940

Mahipal.kunduru@safeway.com

Redder, Joan

KFC 1900 Colonel Sanders Lane Louisville, KY 40213 Voice: (502) 874-8174 Fax: (540) 951-3191 joan.redder@yum.com

Academia

Larry Beuchat

University of Georgia 1109 Experiment Street, Griffin GA, 30223-1797 (770)412-4740 (770)229-3216 lbeauchat@uga.edu

Don Schaffner

Rutgers University 65 Dudley Rd **New Brunswick** NJ 08901-8520

(732) 932-9611 x214 732) 932-6776 schaffner@aesop.rutgers.edu

Consumer

Progress Report/Committee Activities:

The committee has a conference call every other week. The inconsistencies have been agreed upon and are included in the attached table. A letter was sent from CFP to the EPA requesting participation on the committee by the Environmental protection Agency. The EPA is now participating in the committee and they are reviewing the identified issues. The data from the FDA supporting the variable levels of chlorine depending on temperature and pH has been distributed to the committee. Now that those two elements are in place the committee can decide upon its final recommendations for the CFP. The committee is on track to submit its recommendations and the report as issues for the 2008 CFP meeting.

There have been some changes in membership on the committee. The roster provided above is current as of submission of this update.

Requested Actions:

Mahipal Kunduru from Safeway was added to the committee to replace Joan Menke-Schaenzer from Wal-Mart who dropped off the committee. Also Tajah L. Blackburn and Michele E. Wingfield from the EPA have joined the committee. We request that the board approve those new members of this committee.